Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Senior phase of learning

New Queensland Certificate of Education (QCE) system for students from Year 11 in 2019 onwards


Queensland is introducing a new QCE system starting with Year 11 students in 2019. The changes will give students the skills they need for success in work and life in the future.

Key features include:

  • new and redeveloped QCAA senior syllabuses
  • external assessment in most senior subjects
  • new quality assurance processes to strengthen the quality and comparability of school-based assessment
  • changes to QCE eligibility requirements
  • the introduction of the Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR).

Queensland Certificate of Individual Achievement (QCIA)


The Queensland Certificate of Individual Achievement (QCIA) recognises the achievements of students who are on individualised learning programs.

The certificate is an official record that students have completed at least 12 years of education, and provides students with a summary of their skills and knowledge that they can present to employers and training providers.

Queensland Certificate of Individual Achievement (QCIA)​